Council

Yorkshire Council

Yorkshire Tennis is governed by its Council and Management Committee. Council meets four times each year and the Management Committee meets each month. The membership of each of these bodies is shown below. In addition there are three core Sub Committees.

The Council Membership

President Chris Day Area Rep South Yorkshire chris.day5819@outlook.com
Council Members Adrian Waite Area Rep West Yorkshire and LTA Councillor adrianwaite@virginmedia.com
Angela Crossley Area Rep West Yorkshire crossleya@bostonspaleeds.schu.uk
Brian Smith Area Rep West Yorkshire blshighview@gmail.com
Carolyn Rothwell Area Rep North Yorkshire info@homegrowngardens.co.uk
Chris French Area Rep East Yorkshire chris@chrisfrench.plus.com
Don Stewart Area Rep West Yorkshire doncstewart@live.co.uk
Ian Hargreaves Treasurer Ianhargreaves1@ntlworld.com
Jan Hornby Co-opted, Area Rep East Yorkshire jan@pelicanparkhull.org
Jessica Redfearn Area Rep South Yorkshire jess.redfearn@hotmail.com
John Crowther Chairman johncrowther@yahoo.co.uk
John Linfoot Area Rep North Yorkshire johnlinfoot2@gmail.com
John Ramsbottom Trustee and Lead Volunteer johnramsbottom@ymail.com
Karen Mitchell Area Rep North Yorkshire kmitchell.tennis@btinternet.com
Liz Wilson Area Rep West Yorkshire wilson.liz@gmail.com
Martin Gilmour Area Rep South Yorkshire martin.gilmour@sky.com
Peter Wilkes Co-opted p.g.wilkes@hotmail.com
Richard Simpson Area Rep East Yorkshire richard.simpson@click4aweb.com
Stephen Freegard Trustee srfreegard@rosettesdirect.com
Sue Stent Co-opted tennis-sue@mail.com
Trevor Stent Area Rep West Yorkshire c/o alisonsteetennis@gmail.com
Wendy Hurworth Area Rep North Yorkshire s.huworth@sky.com
Zsuzsi Puskas Area Rep West Yorkshire su.puskas@yahoo.co.ukĀ 

The Management Committee

Chairman John Crowther
Treasurer Ian Hargreaves
Secretary County Administrator (Alison Steel)
Committee Members Angela Crossley
Chris Day
John Ramsbottom
Don Stewart
Carolyn Rothwell
Adrian Waite
Karen Mitchell

Area Representatives and Councillors

Councillor Area Councillor Area
Angela Crossley West Yorkshire John Linfoot North Yorkshire
John Crowther North Yorkshire Karen Mitchell North Yorkshire
Chris French East Yorkshire Jessica Redfearn South Yorkshire
Martin Gilmour South Yorkshire Carolyn Rothwell North Yorkshire
Jan Hornby East Yorkshire Brian Smith West Yorkshire
Richard Simpson East Yorkshire Don Stewart West Yorkshire
Trevor Stent West Yorkshire Liz Wilson West Yorkshire
Adrian Waite West/South Yorkshire Zsuzsi Puskas West Yorkshire

The Core Sub Committees are

  • County, Club, Community and Schools (CCCS)
  • Performance
  • Competition

Councillors and their roles

Yorkshire Tennis (aka the Yorkshire Lawn Tennis Association/ YLTA) is a representative organisation which has elected Councillors that control the governance and policy of the organisation. In addition, it may elect Councillors directly due to specific skill requirements. The attached document lays out the expected requirements of Councillors in their acceptance and performance of the role.

Administration

Enquiries, please contact:

Jessica Redfearn (Project Administrator) jess@yorkshiretennis.org.uk
Alison Steel (County Administrator) alison@yorkshiretennis.org.uk
Dave Kitchen (Tennis Administrator) davekitchen77@gmail.com

Email:

Yorkshire.tennis@aol.co.uk