Yorkshire Council

Yorkshire Tennis is governed by its Council and Management Committee. Council meets four times each year and the Management Committee meets each month. The membership of each of these bodies is shown below. In addition there are three core Sub Committees.

The Council Membership

President Geoff Newton  
Council Members Adrian Waite Area Rep West Yorkshire and LTA Councillor
Angela Crossley Area Rep West Yorkshire
Brian Smith Area Rep West Yorkshire
Carolyn Rothwell Area Rep North Yorkshire
Chris French Area Rep East Yorkshire
Don Stewart Area Rep West Yorkshire
Ian Hargreaves Treasurer
Jan Hornby Area Rep East Yorkshire
Nicola Mooney Co-opted, Area Rep North Yorkshire
Jessica Redfearn Area Rep South Yorkshire
John Crowther Chairman
John Ramsbottom Trustee and Lead Volunteer
Karen Mitchell Area Rep North Yorkshire/Lead Safeguarding
Liz Wilson Area Rep West Yorkshire
Martin Gilmour Area Rep South Yorkshire
Peter Wilkes Trustee
Stephen Freegard Trustee
Sue Stent Co-opted
Trevor Stent Area Rep West Yorkshire
Wendy Hurworth Area Rep North Yorkshire
Zsuzsi Puskas Area Rep West Yorkshire
Peter Vann Co-opted
Chris Day Area Rep South Yorkshire





The Management Committee

Chairman John Crowther
Treasurer Ian Hargreaves
Secretary County Administrator (Alison Steel)
Committee Members Angela Crossley
Chris Day
Don Stewart
Carolyn Rothwell
Adrian Waite
Karen Mitchell
Geoff Newton

Area Representatives and Councillors

Councillor Area Councillor Area
Angela Crossley West Yorkshire Chris Day South/West Yorkshire
John Crowther North Yorkshire Karen Mitchell North Yorkshire
Chris French East Yorkshire Jessica Redfearn South Yorkshire
Martin Gilmour South Yorkshire Carolyn Rothwell North Yorkshire
Jan Hornby East Yorkshire Brian Smith West Yorkshire
Nicola Mooney North Yorkshire Don Stewart West Yorkshire
Trevor Stent West Yorkshire Liz Wilson West Yorkshire
Adrian Waite West/South Yorkshire Zsuzsi Puskas West Yorkshire
Peter Vann      

The Core Sub Committees are:

  • County, Club, Community and Schools (CCCS)
  • Performance
  • Competition

Councillors and their roles

Yorkshire Tennis (aka the Yorkshire Lawn Tennis Association/ YLTA) is a representative organisation which has elected Councillors that control the governance and policy of the organisation. In addition, it may elect Councillors directly due to specific skill requirements. The attached document lays out the expected requirements of Councillors in their acceptance and performance of the role.


Enquiries, please contact:

Jessica Redfearn (Project Administrator) 
Alison Steel (County Administrator) 
Steve Holmes (Tennis Administrator)