Schools Tennis

We have a school competition framework in Yorkshire for primary and secondary schools. The framework is run at local and area level and provides opportunities for all standards and all schools. The Schools Tennis competition ‘offer’ has being realigned to fit the new School Games structure, which is central to the Government’s new strategy for PE and School Sport. The below overview explains our priority formats for Yorkshire.

Primary – Years 3 and 4

Year 3 and 4 competition (mini red)

  • Level 1 (intra-school) ——-> Level 2 (inter-school priority) ——-> Level 3 (county schools games)
  • Year 3 and 4 competitions include West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and North Yorkshire games (July)
  • Also there are tennis finals in East Yorkshire
  • For entry in the competition contact your local school games organiser or register an interest at the county office on 0208 487 7040
  • For more information on schools competition and other schools resources take a look at our Guide to Schools Tennis

Secondary – Years 8 and 10

Aegon Team Tennis Schools Competition

  • DIVISION 1 ——–> National Knockout
  • DIVISION 2 ——–> School Games/Area Finals ——–> Yorkshire Finals

Division 1:

Winning teams in Division 1 will go through to Regional and National Stages

Division 2:

Division 2 will replace the under 13 and under 15 local schools competitions which have run in the past, winners of the Division 2 leagues will then go through to area or county finals. Please note there is a ratings cap in Division 2- any player rated 9.1 or better will be ineligible for Division 2. We encourage teams that have entered a team into Division 1 to enter a second team in Division 2.

Associate Members:

Ripon Grammar School Vale of York Academy  Ashville College Senior School Ashville College Prep School
Thornhill Lees I & N School Stocksbridge Junior School Our Lady of Mount Carmel Knaresborough St Johns CofE Primary School
Auckley School Town Field Primary School Nether Green Infant School Rossett Acre Primary School
Pannal Primary School Branton St Wilfreds CofE Primary School  Hatchell Wood Primary Academy All Saint CofE School 
Lakeside Primary School Thornhill Junior & Infant School St Marys Catholic Primary School  Phillimore Primary School
Oatlands Infant School Fountains CofE Primary School North Stainley CofE Primary School Templenewsam Halton Primary School
Wickersley School and Sports College Willow Tree Primary School Bedale Primary School Crakehall Primary School
Michael Syddall CofE Primary School RAF Leeming Community Primary Hackforth & Hornby Primary School Hampsthwaite Primary School
Birstwith Primary School Darley Community Primary School Ripley Endowed Primary School Outlands Junior School
Prince Edward Primary School Starbeck Community Primary School Bramley Sunnyside Junior School Scissett C of E Academy
Bessacarr Primary School Greystones Primary School Bishop Monkton Primary School  
Pipworth Community Primary School Norfolk Community Primary School St Nicholas C of E Priamry School Cockburn John Charles Academy
Wheldrake (Out of School club) Baldersby St James CE School St Marie’s School North Duffield Primary School
Burnestone CE Primary School Scotton Lingerfield Primary School Lane End Primary School Dobcroft Infant School
Heritage Park School Mossbrook School    
Cumberworth C of E First School Sheffield Girls Infants   Fieldhead Carr Primary School
Upper Batley High School Batley Girls High School Canon Popham C of E Primary Academy St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School
Shepley School   Western Primary School Westgate Primary School
Burley Oaks Primary School Burley Woodhead Primary School Menston Primary School St Roberts Catholic School
Hookstone Chase Primary School Kirkby Malzeard Bedale High School Earlsheaton Infant School
Manor Croft Academy Richmond Methodist Primary School Highfield Primary School Brompton-on-Swale C of E Primary School
Kirkby Fleetham C of E Primary School Trinity Academy Bolton-on-Swale St Mary’s C of E Primary School Otley All Saints
St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Otley Prince Henry’s Grammar School Richmond Schoo, & Sixth Form College  

More information on Associate Memberships: Associate Membership Information

Apply to become an Associate Member: Associate Membership Application